Energy Voice | BP win big as North Sea safety award winners recognised

The winners of the 2018 Offshore Safety Awards were recognised yesterday at an event held in Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC).

Six awards were handed out at a ceremony which embraced an “interactive format” with guests voting on winners based on hearing pitches from finalists.

Organised by Oil and Gas UK and Step Change in Safety and sponsored by French oil giant Total, the event awarded WorleyParsons’ James Ellerton the award for safety leadership, while William Davidson from Nexen won safety representative of the year.

Rig cooling firm RigDeluge received the innovation award as the Theddlethorpe Gas Terminal team at ConocoPhillips received a workforce engagement gong for achieving 10 years of operations without a single recordable injury .

BP won big on the night as the award for operational integrity was won by Marcin Nazaruk, while the sharing and learning award was given to Alan Dickson and Fiona Fleming,  from the company’s health team.

Matt Abraham, health, safety and environment and supply chain director with Oil and Gas UK, said: “Every year this event highlights why a relentless focus on safety makes such a crucial difference to our sector. As an industry we have a passion for safety and continually seek to build and expand our safety knowledge and expertise.

“The Offshore Safety Awards provides a key opportunity for motivated people to share their innovative ideas and have positive, constructive conversations, all of which help ensure that the UKCS remains one of the safest provinces to do business in the global oil and gas industry.”

Les Linklater, executive director of Step Change in Safety, added: “This event offers a great opportunity to drive forward conversations around safety. Although it’s important to recognise the contribution our winners have made to improving safety in our industry, its equally important we take the ideas generated today and make them part of how we work day to day, ensuring conversations around safety remain an informative and engaging exercise.

“On behalf of Oil and Gas UK and Step Change in Safety I’d like to extend my congratulations to all our winners today and thank them for their remarkable contributions to improving safety in our industry.”

Source link